Weekly Assignment #13 (last one)

By midnight on Wednesday, December 13, please locate an archival collection related to your topic. Write an annotation summarizing the collection and evaluating its potential usefulness for your paper. Use any or all the following resources:

An online finding aid, if there is one, will give you a great deal of information about the collection that you can use for your annotation’s summary. You can sometimes find these by following links from the databases, but you can also Google the name of the collection (e.g., “Ernest Hemingway papers”) plus the keywords “finding aid” or “inventory.” You might also try going to the library / repository’s own website and searching their catalog or website.

Also, just for fun, you might want to check out the Wayback Machine at the Internet Archive. If you’re looking for an old website or a previous version of a current one, this is about your only option.

And yes: you can include archival sources (or finding aids to them) in your annotated bibliography!

11 Comments

Filed under Weekly Assignments

11 responses to “Weekly Assignment #13 (last one)

  1. April Swarey

    My topic is the eighteenth-century novel, Anti-Pamela and I did not find special collections in America that would help with that so much, but I did find several collections that may allow me to gather some original material regarding eighteenth-century American reading tastes.
    One of the most promising is located at the College of William and Mary: http:\\www.swem.wm.edu/departments/special-collections// I would be particularly interested to see if there were any letters between women discussing their reading or writing in that time period.

  2. Daniela Newland

    I searched World Cat (after trying Archives USA without results) and came across a collection of 13 boxes of papers related to Raymond Chandler, located at the University of California at Los Angeles. I have not been able to locate any criticism about Chandler’s short story “Red Wind” that I am comparing to Dashiell Hammett’s novel _Red Harvest_, and neither have I found references to that story in the selected letters edition I have used for this paper. Since this collection “consists of correspondence, photographs, speeches, and literary manuscripts,” I would be very interested in looking through that material if I had to do further, “serious” research on the story. The library even has an unpublished finding aid at the reference desk–from what we’ve learned last Tuesday, that would be a tremendous help gping through that material.
    Chandler, Raymond. _Raymond Chandler Papers_ (Collection 638). Department of Special Collections, University Research Library, University of California, Los Angeles.

  3. Erin Callahan

    Boas, Franz. Papers (Collection 63-4). American Philosophical Society, Library, Philadelphia.
    Since I am interested in examining elements of the Sapir-Whorf hypothesis within Hispanic English, the above collection becomes relevant. This collection of the papers of early anthropologist (and linguist) Boas, mentor to Sapir, includes first-hand accounts/observations of how anthropology was developing as a “science” in its infancy, descriptions of fieldwork in Latin America, and Boas’ reflections on categories that were quite “modern,” I think, for the time, including race and academic freedom.
    As I have been researching Chicano English and its syntactic variables, I’ve becoming more and more interested in the history of linguistics as a discipline both descriptively and conceptually; archives would absolutely become relevant if my thesis goes in this direction.

  4. Jam Phillips

    For my search of archived materials, I began with the WorldCat database via NCSU library. I selected ?Advanced Search,? checked the ?archival materials? field, and ran a query for ?Cotton Mather.? Several items were displayed and I selected a citation of a collection of Cotton Mather?s papers currently housed in the archives of the Massachusetts Historical Society. The citation lists a significant portion of Mather?s papers as well as correspondences to and from Richard Mather, Thomas Shepherd, and Isaac Watts. 9 cases of archived materials are listed. The abstract describing the contents of the cases reads, ?Papers of Congregational clergyman Cotton Mather include his diaries, 1682-1724 (with gaps), miscellaneous religious writings, and his unpublished 6-volume manuscript ?Biblia Americana? Also, a manuscript and letter to Richard Mather by Thomas Shepard and a letter from Isaac Watts to Cotton Mather.?
    My thesis topic is the captivity narrative and as Mather incorporated early colonial puritan captivity narratives into his sermons and histories and recorded many of the first hand accounts, I thought drafts of these accounts might be found in this collection. Since Mather was a prolific writer/minister in Puritan New England, there is was and is a great effort to preserve is writing. Finding archived material either written by him or about him is not very difficult.

  5. James Phillips

    Sorry…the name is James Phillips. I usually don’t refer to myself as “Jam” unless I’m on my break-dancing BLOG.

  6. Lorian Long

    I began my search with Mary Gaitskill, but quickly abandoned that, due to the lack of results. I decided to search a more obvious and prolific writer: Joan Didion. My main subject is Mary Gaitskill, but I will also be using aspects of Didion’s work to compare with Gaitskill.
    Anywho, Didion was much easier to search. I used WorldCat and came up with eight or nine results. It was fun to find Didion’s college papers and essays (one was on Henry James). The most useful link I found was to the rare books collections at Pennsylvania State University. It included essays about writers’ first novels. Here is a summary from the website:
    This collection is a group of essays by authors discussing their first novels, accompanied by biographical questionnaires, correspondence, photographs, and printed matter. The essays were prepared for a continuing series published in Library Journal, first titled New Creative Writers and later First Novelists. Among the more than 900 authors represented in the collection are economist John Kenneth Galbraith, comedians Carl Reiner and Ernie Kovacs, actress Mary Astor, critics Carlos Baker and Leslie Fiedler, directors Garson Kanin and Elia Kazan, as well as professional writers such as Walker Percy, Philip Roth, James Purdy, Joan Didion, and Paul Theroux, and other prominent figures such as David Halberstam.

  7. Blake Wilder

    I conducted a brief search in both WorldCat and Archives USA and did not get much. Using a Google search I located the William Faulkner Collection at the Special Collections Library at the University of Virginia. This is a prolific collection containing some of Faulkner?s personal papers as well as pieces that others have written on Faulkner. There are a few masters theses that seemed possibly relevant to my own work such as ?Early Faulkner Criticism.? As I anticipate that much of my graduate career will be spent with a focus on Faulkner and Southern Literature in general, these older criticisms may prove useful as I try to grasp an overall knowledge of what my predecessor?s have written.

  8. Leah White

    I looked through all three of these websites for quite a bit of time and couldn’t find really anything. I looked up gender, language, linguistics, sex, and sociolinguistics in various combinations, and usually ended up getting one or no hits. This random guy named Duncan MacDougald came up a few times… I think he must have been some kind of packrat. His “collection” of almost 700 items included “an aphrodisiac cookbook” and the site said that the subjects represented “include cookery, food, description of travel in Europe, jazz and other aspects of music, language and linguistics, salt, and sex.” Haven’t a clue what this guy was, but he sounds a little strange.
    So, anyway, the only time I actually found anything was when I did the OCLC search through NUCMC (but not, surprisingly, through WorldCat), and all that was was a series of linguistics theses and the occasional dissertation, and I didn’t think that was a valid thing to put down here.
    I suppose if I had to choose something I would think of as an archive that would be useful to me, it would be one that I couldn’t find online (at least, not in a NUCMC search). I would say that the NC Language and Life Project’s tape “archives” are the most useful to me at the moment. This archive is currently being put online, although it is not accessible to everyone. I don’t know if this is what you were thinking of in terms of an archive, but I couldn’t really find anything else.

  9. Carrie Spruill

    I looked through all of these websites and did not find much relevant material. When I generalized my search using the term “Shakespeare”, I found lots of prompt copies from theatrical performances in the 1990’s–not exactly what I was looking for. However, I did find some historical material in Open World Cat.
    Donne, John and William Shakespeare. Blooms and Blossoms of the Reigns of Elizabeth, James, Charles I and II. Edinburgh University Library.
    This collection of manuscripts was culled from Thomas Thorpe, who compiled it in 1831. In all there are over 5500 verses as well as some prose compositions. The documents originate from the early 17th century to about 1630. Many of the earlier works are attributed to Shakespeare, though the record did not list titles. My hope would be that it may contain revised or altered copies of earlier plays Shakespeare wrote.

  10. Josh Gane

    My topic is Posthuman Rhetoric. This is an extremly new issue, and I cannot find anything. I have searched everywhere with keywords: hypertext, posthumanism, post humanism, postmodernism, etc… I will continue to look and post again if anything is found.

  11. Kimberly Wine

    My topic is postmodern theory in composition studies and as such I found nothing; however, in looking for the American postmodern theorist Richard Rorty, I found:
    Collection Name: Rorty, James (1890-1973)
    Repository Name: University of Oregon, Knight Library, Special Collections, Eugene OR
    NUCMC Number: MS 76-1329
    Type: Papers
    Collection Dates: 1915-1972
    Extent: 8 ft.
    Description: Author. Correspondence, notebooks, literary mss., and other papers. Includes memoirs of literary life in California in the 1920s and literary and political life in New York in the 1930s. Includes correspondence, literary mss., and other papers, of Rorty’s sisters, Eva Beard and Marion Bullard, also authors. Rorty’s correspondents include Cornelia Barnes, Eva Beard, Marion Bullard, James T. Farrell, Hildegarde Flanner, Leo R. Lewis, Winifred Rorty, and Mark Van Doren. Unpublished finding aid in the repository.
    Index Terms: NUCMC
    And so in true postmodern fashion have cited this as my special collection. Enjoy!